Show Menu
+64 3 249 9110

Contact Details

Red Tussock Motel
10 Lakefront Drive
Te Anau, New Zealand


Reservations: 0800 473 388
Ph: +64 3 249 9110
Fax: +64 3 249 9112

Email: redtussock@xtra.co.nz
Web:

If you would like to book online or to enquire please don't hesitate to contact us.

Reviews for Red Tussock Motel, Te Anau

26 Aug 2017Reviewed by sandjgraham
We stayed for two nights in a 2 room apartment. We were welcomed by friendly faces. The apartment was toasty warm with the option of air conditioning for warmer months. Comfortable cosy beds which is a must staying away from home. Well equip kitchen so we were able to prepare our own meals if needed. Very clean and comfortable and really close to town and across the road from the lakefront. Would absolutely recommend and we will definitely be back. Thank you Irene and staff for a fantastic stay.
14 Jul 2017Reviewed by HenryHeinz
We stayed in the Red Tussock in Te Anau for two nights. I liked the location - it was was across the street from the Fiordland National Park visitors center (and a large lakeside park with an aviary), and only about 1.5 km from downtown Te Anau. It is an older motel property, but has been pretty immaculately maintained. It was also pretty quiet, clean, and had all the amenities we'd need. It does not have a bar/restaurant, although I think they can arrange a breakfast. This isn't really an issue - as the town is close enough, and there was a kitchenette in the room we had. The manager, Robin, was a really nice and helpful guy. In all, on a value for money basis, this was a really good place.
We were recommended this motel by the I-Site in Wanaka, and we were really happy with it. It's a nice location close to the lake and just 15 mins stroll into town. We stayed 2 separate nights either side of an overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound and were very happy with our ground floor one bedroom apartments. They were spacious, clean and comfortable with excellent wifi and plenty of room for our luggage. Robin, the proprietor, is very helpful and was happy for us to leave our car while we were on the cruise. Very good value.
Anna G - Torquay, United Kingdom - Stayed April 2015
We had a lovely stay at the Red Tussock Motel and had excellent service from our host, Robin. Our room was clean, airy and very comfortable and of a good size. Robin provided us with all the local knowledge we needed for our stay in Te Anau and nothing was too much trouble. The Motel was beautifully kept with a garden and barbeque area. We were opposite the lake which was wonderful for walks. Being a few minutes from the town centre meant we were able to enjoy the peaceful setting around the Motel.
Annie B - East Grinstead, United Kingdom - Stayed February 2015
I've stayed at many hotels and motels around the world and I rate the service at this place as among the very best. Robin the host was a mine of information about the town and the attractions in the area. He was very solicitous as to how we were enjoying our holiday. The motel unit while not new was very clean and very comfortable and the price was reasonable.
Treeleaper - Rangiora, New Zealand - Stayed March 2015
We stayed here the night before and after walking the Kepler track. The host was incredibly helpful and friendly. He printed up-do-date detailed weather reports for us, and stored our luggage during the walk. He even carried all our heavy bags up to our room, ready for our return. We had 2 different rooms during our stay. Both were very clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. Location is directly opposite DOC office, making this the perfect location for our visit. Highly recommended!
Pianovet - Raleigh, North Carolina - Stayed January 2015
We based ourselves here for the trip to Milford Sound. We found that the rooms were very spacious and well equipped. Robin - the owner - was very friendly and nothing was too much bother for him. He made our reservations for the Milford Sound trip and also pointed in the direction of good value eating and drinking places in town - including one that gave us a free glass of wine because we were staying at the motel.
Valerie975 - Auckland, New Zealand - Stayed January 2015
Stayed here 2 nights in mid-January. The rooms are very comfortable and the owner Robin was exceedingly helpful. It's about a 10 minute walk to restaurants and shops. We would certainly stay here again on a future visit to Te Anu.
rick123tacoma - Tacoma, WA - Stayed January 2015
We only had one night here, and our first experience of a motel - we were most impressed. Spotlessly clean, spacious room, very well equipped and Robin couldn't have been more helpful, with advice on where to eat (Moose was great) and things to do (the 35-minute film at the little cinema is a must). Highly recommended.
Mrs S - Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom - Stayed February 2015
A stone's throw from the lake and about 8 mins walk to the shops. Beautiful town. Robin, the manager is very friendly and gives us so much useful information. He is so passionate with his job. We were upgraded to a huge apartment with 3 rooms but can sleep at least 12! Brilliant! We totally enjoyed ourselves.
Sushsi - Malaysia
Robin, the Hotel manager, was extremely kind and helpful. He made us feel welcome upon checking in. We stayed for 2 nights in Dec 2014. Surprising and fortunately, we were upgraded to a bigger apartment. The hotel is really value for money. It is a good stopping point when traveling to Milford Sound. He suggested for us to get our supplies to prepare for lunch after hearing that we had booked for an afternoon cruise to Milford Sound and he gracefully opened the laundry room late for us to do our laundry after our return from MS.
miafarik - Singapore - Stayed December 2014
Loved this stay! Checked 3 places, this was by far the best price/room! Robin, the mgr, was extremely helpful! Suggesting restaurants, road information, sights to stop and enjoy on the way to Milford. Incredibly accommodating! Room was large, very comfortable! Excellent location! Will stay there again!!! A++++
Kevin E - Nelson, New Zealand - Stayed November 2014
What a nice place to stay! A good location, only a nice ten minutes walk from the center. Robin, the manager, was really friendly and helpfull. Even turned on the heating so it was warmed up when we came back from our trip. Also the room with balcony was very spacious and had everything we needed.
Amber V - Aesten - Stayed November 2014
We stayed at the Red Tussock for 2 nights in April 2014. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. The place was warm and cosy and very clean. Its a slightly older properly but well maintained and great value for money. You can walk to the main street. The owner was warm and helpful. Its a good place for a trip to the Milford sound. We enjoyed our stay at the Red Tussock.
nm01 - India - Stayed April 2014
Back in late February we stayed here as a convenient overnight stop for Milford Sound. The motel is situated on the lakeside; the rooms are clean, spacious and reasonably priced; but what set this motel apart is the very helpful and caring attitude of the owner/manager who gave us excellent advice over restaurants and cafes, and, more importantly, the timing of trips to the Glow-worm Caves and Milford Sound. In particular, I was touched by his genuine concern over our driving to Milford Sound at a time when we might meet with the convoys of buses travelling at high speeds on the narrower road to Milford Sound and appreciated his suggestion of how we might avoid them.
x2_travel_bug - Edinburgh - Stayed February 2014
We booked this motel via Bookings.com several months in advance. We decide that the original booking was too short so rang Motel to extend stay. This was done with no problem. When we arrived we were surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a larger room. It had everything a couple could want. The rooms were spotless. Robin, the manager, welcomed us on arrival and could not do enough for us. Very helpful with advice about the area. Motel is situated a very easy and pleasant walk via the lake foreshore, from the centre of town. Visitor/information centre just across the road. Te Anau is a lovely and friendly town. It is the stepping off point for Milford sound and a lot of other attractions. I highly recommend a stay in this beautiful town and Motel.
JillG57 - Wodonga, Australia - Stayed April 2014
The Red Tussock is excellent value for money. The location is good, the units are clean and comfortable, and the wi-fi works wonderfully. Best of all, though, is the motel's manager, Robin - he is wonderful, and makes sure that every guest feels absolutely welcome. He remembers each guest's name and plans for the day... absolutely remarkable! We will return to the Red Tussock!
Beth R - Dunedin, New Zealand - Stayed March 2014
Red Tussock ticks all the boxes: good value for money, clean, comfy beds, walking distance to town etc etc. It's real point of difference is the Manager, Robin. He is super helpful, generous with his time and you feel really looked after. He even gave me some Epsom Salts cos he could see I had sore feet from tramping and wow was that bath great.
JodiWendy - New Plymouth, New Zealand - Stayed January 2014